Notre Vision

Des Canadiens en meilleure santé en réduisant le fardeau des cancers et des maladies chroniques et en améliorant la viabilité du système de soins de santé.

Notre Mission

Améliorer la santé des Canadiens et contribuer à la viabilité du système de soins de santé par une meilleure prévention et un meilleur dépistage des maladies chroniques.

« BETTER est un programme unique qui a développé une approche qui a été testée et éprouvée à travers une méthodologie d’essai rigoureuse pour intégrer la prévention et le dépistage des principales maladies chroniques par des professionnels en prévention »
Dre Eva Grunfeld

Notre Équipe

Dre Eva Grunfeld

  • Cofondatrice, Programme BETTER
  • Conseillère scientifique en chef, Institut BETTER

La Dre Eva Grunfeld est directrice du Knowledge Translation Research Network (Réseau de recherche sur le transfert des connaissances) du programme de recherche sur les services de santé d’Action Cancer Ontario et de l’Ontario Institute for Cancer Research (Institut de recherche sur le cancer de l’Ontario). Elle est aussi professeure Giblon et directrice de recherche dans le département de médecine familiale et communautaire de l’Université de Toronto. De 2004 à 2008, elle a fondé et dirigé le Cancer Outcomes Research Program (Programme de recherche sur les résultats cliniques dans le domaine du cancer) pour Action Cancer Nouvelle-Écosse et l’Université Dalhousie. Elle a obtenu son diplôme en médecine à l’Université McMaster et possède également un doctorat en épidémiologie du cancer de l’Université d’Oxford. Ses recherches sont centrées sur l’évaluation et le transfert des connaissances des services de santé dans le domaine du cancer et couvrent tout l’éventail des activités de contrôle du cancer. Les recherches de la Dre Grunfeld utilisent des méthodes diverses dont les essais cliniques randomisés, la recherche qualitative et l’analyse de résultats. La Dre Grunfeld est reconnue à l’échelle internationale comme sommité dans la recherche en soins primaires, notamment sur le et la survie au cancer, et a été chercheuse principale lors de nombreux essais cliniques randomisés sur les soins de suivi oncologiques établissant la sûreté et l’acceptabilité du suivi en soins de première ligne pour les patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein.

Dre Donna Manca

  • Cofondatrice, Programme BETTER
  • Directrice médicale, Institut BETTER

La Dre Donna Manca est médecin de famille depuis plus de 30 ans à Edmonton en Alberta. Elle a obtenu sa maîtrise à l’Université Western Ontario en 1989 et sa thèse intitulée The Miscarriage Experience utilisait différentes méthodes dont la théorie à base empirique. Son expérience clinique comprend une courte période de pratique dans l’Arctique central, incluant : Yellowknife, Ikaluktutiak, Taloyoak, Gjoa Haven et Coppermine en 1983. Son expérience clinique est le moteur qui oriente ses recherches. Elle est directrice clinique de l’Alberta Family Practice Research Network (AFPRN) (Réseau de recherche en médecine familiale de l’Alberta), une initiative du Alberta College of Family Physicians (Collège des médecins de famille de l’Alberta) et directrice du Northern Alberta Primary Care Research Network (NAPCReN) (Réseau de recherche en soins primaires du nord de l’Alberta), un réseau qui contribue à la base de données nationale du Réseau canadien de surveillance sentinelle en soins primaires (RCSSSP). La Dre Manca a reçu le prix de reconnaissance d’excellence 2011 du Collège des médecins de famille de l’Alberta pour son engagement à promouvoir les soins primaires et la recherche communautaire fondée sur la pratique. Elle a contribué à la mise en œuvre du système de confidentialité et de sécurité de l’information pour le RCSSSP, qui a obtenu le prix de mondial de l’innovation 2013 de l’Association internationale des professionnels de la protection de la vie privée.

Carolina Fernandes

  • Directrice exécutive, Institut BETTER
  • Coordonnatrice principale, Programme BETTER

Carolina Fernandes a commencé sa carrière au sein du Programme BETTER en tant que coordinatrice régionale de l’essai BETTER en 2011. Elle a participé à plusieurs études de recherche dans le cadre du programme de recherche BETTER, formé des professionnels en prévention issus de divers milieux et soutenu la mise en œuvre du programme dans les pratiques de soins primaires. Mme Fernandes a contribué à plusieurs activités centrales de BETTER, incluant la coordination du programme, l’élaboration du programme de formation des professionnels en prévention, le perfectionnement des outils du Programme BETTER et le développement des solutions informatiques pour le programme. Elle détient une maîtrise ès sciences en méthodologie de la recherche en santé de l’Université McMaster et une maîtrise ès arts en économie de l’Université de l’Alberta. Auparavant, elle a participé à des travaux de recherche dans le domaine des soins primaires sur les soins palliatifs et de fin de vie.

Dre Aisha Lofters

  • Conseillère médicale, Institut BETTER

La Dre Aisha Lofters est médecin de famille au centre hospitalier universitaire de santé familiale de l’Hôpital St. Michael et chercheuse au Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute de l’Hôpital St. Michael à Toronto, en Ontario. Elle est professeure adjointe à l’Université de Toronto au département de médecine familiale et communautaire et chercheuse auxiliaire à l’Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (Institut pour les sciences évaluatives cliniques). Elle est actuellement détentrice d’une bourse salariale de nouveau chercheur des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et agit à titre de responsable provinciale des soins primaires pour le programme de dépistage du cancer d’Action Cancer Ontario, où elle fournit des orientations sur les programmes de dépistage du cancer en Ontario. En octobre 2019, elle occupera également le poste de Présidente en science de la mise en œuvre au Women’s College Hospital. Ses intérêts de recherche comprennent le dépistage et la prévention du cancer, l’accès et l’équité des soins de santé des immigrants, en utilisant un large éventail de méthodes diverses, notamment l’analyse secondaire de bases de données et la recherche participative communautaire.

Dre N. Sopcak

Formateur principal, Institut BETTER

H. Finn

Responsable de la mise en œuvre, Institut BETTER (Division est)

J. Parrish

Responsable de l’engagement autochtone, Institut BETTER

K. Latko

Formateur principal, Institut BETTER

A. Dixon

Responsable de la mise en œuvre, Institut BETTER (Division ouest)

H. Cheung

Formateur principal, Institut BETTER (Division ouest)

M. Harder

Adjoint administratif, Institut BETTER

Our Vision

Healthier Canadians through reduced burden of cancer and chronic disease and a sustainable healthcare system.

Our Mission

To advance the health of Canadians and contribute to a sustainable healthcare system through improved chronic disease prevention and screening.

“BETTER is a unique program that has developed an approach that has been tested and proven through rigorous trial methodology to integrate prevention and screening for major chronic diseases through Prevention Practitioners”
Dr. Eva Grunfeld

Our Team

Eva Grunfeld

Dr. Eva Grunfeld

  • Co-Founder, The BETTER Program
  • Chief Scientific Advisor, The BETTER Prevention Practitioner Training Institute

Dr. Eva Grunfeld is the Director of the Knowledge Translation Research Network in the Health Services Research Program for Cancer Care Ontario and the Ontario Institute for Cancer Research. At the same time, she is the Giblon Professor and Vice Chair (Research) at the Department of Family and Community Medicine, University of Toronto. From 2004 to 2008, she founded and directed the Cancer Outcomes Research Program at Cancer Care Nova Scotia and Dalhousie University. She obtained her medical degree from McMaster University and doctoral degree in cancer epidemiology from Oxford University. Her research focuses on evaluation and knowledge translation of cancer health services, covering the entire spectrum of cancer control activities and uses a mixed-methods approach including randomized controlled trials, qualitative research and outcomes research. Dr. Grunfeld is recognized as an international leader in primary care research, including follow-up and cancer survivorship, and has been the lead author of many seminal randomized controlled trials on cancer follow-up care establishing the safety and acceptability of primary care based follow-up of breast cancer patients.

Donna Manca

Dr. Donna Manca

  • Co-Founder, The BETTER Program
  • Medical Director, The BETTER Prevention Practitioner Training Institute

Dr. Donna Manca has been a family doctor for over 30 years in Edmonton, Alberta. She obtained her Master’s degree from the University of Western Ontario in 1989 and her thesis titled ‘the Miscarriage Experience’ involved mixed methods including grounded theory. Her clinical experience includes a brief time of practice in the Central arctic including: Yellowknife, Cambridge Bay, Spence Bay, Gjoa Haven and Coppermine in 1983. Her clinical experience drives her research. She is the Clinical Director of the Alberta Family Practice Research network (AFPRN), an initiative of the Alberta College of Family Physicians and the Director of the Northern Alberta Primary Care Research Network (NAPCReN), a network contributing data to the Canadian Primary Care Research Network (CPCSSN). Dr. Manca received the 2011 Alberta College of Family Physicians Recognition of Excellence Award for commitment to furthering primary care, community practice-based research, and she contributed to the implementation of privacy and information security system for the Canadian Primary Care Sentinel Surveillance Network, which obtained the international association of privacy professionals 2013 privacy innovation award.

Carolina Fernandes

Carolina Fernandes

  • Executive Director, The BETTER Prevention Practitioner Training Institute

  • Lead Coordinator, The BETTER Program

Carolina Fernandes began her career with the BETTER Program as a regional Study Coordinator for the BETTER Trial in 2011. She has been involved in several research studies as part of BETTER’s program of research, trained Prevention Practitioners from diverse backgrounds and settings, and supported primary care practices’ program implementation efforts. Ms. Fernandes has contributed to several core activities of BETTER including program coordination, development of the Prevention Practitioner training curriculum, refinement of the BETTER Program tools, and development of the IT solutions for the program. She holds a Master of Science degree in Health Research Methodology from McMaster University and a Master of Arts degree in Economics from the University of Alberta. Her previous experience includes primary care research in end-of-life and palliative care.

Aisha Lofters

Dr. Aisha Lofters

  • Medical Consultant, The BETTER Prevention Practitioner Training Institute

Dr. Aisha Lofters is a family physician with the St. Michael’s Hospital Academic Family Health Team and scientist with the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto, Ontario. She is an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto in the Department of Family and Community Medicine and Adjunct Scientist at the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences. She currently holds a New Investigator Award from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and serves as the provincial primary care lead for Cancer Care Ontario’s Cancer Screening Portfolio, where she provides guidance on Ontario’s cancer screening programs. Come October 2019, she will also take on the position of Chair in Implementation Science at Women’s College Hospital. Her research interests include cancer screening and prevention, immigrant health and health equity, using a broad range of methods including secondary database analysis and community-based participatory research.

Nicolette Sopcak

Dr. N Sopcak

Qualitative Research Lead, The BETTER Program

Holly Finn

Ms. H Finn

Implementation Lead, The BETTER Prevention Practitioner Training Institute (Eastern Branch)

Jacqueline Parrish

Ms. J Parrish

Indigenous Engagement Lead, The BETTER Prevention Practitioner Training Institute

Katherine Latko

Ms. K Latko

Qualitative Research Lead, The BETTER Program

Alexandra Dixon

Ms. A Dixon

Implementation Lead, The BETTER Prevention Practitioner Training Institute (Western Branch)

Heidi Chung

Ms. H Cheung

Trainer, The BETTER Prevention Practitioner Training Institute (Western Branch)

Margaret Harder

Ms. M Harder

Administrative Assistant, The BETTER Prevention Practitioner Training Institute